.

"Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing." ~ Benjamin Franklin

Monday, March 31, 2014

Quilt Gardens by Kelly Long


Whether in colonial times or present day, many Amish women have chosen to express their art and appreciation of Gott’s nature through quilt gardens. And spring is when these gardens are planned and planted.

I can’t help but think that many of us are in the spring of a quilt garden in our own lives—God is planning and planting but we cannot yet see the pattern or wonderful design. In fact, many of us would prefer not to be “planted.” But the Bible calls us “God’s Field…” so we are characterized as a place where God works and grows us. But the truth is, it hurts to have our soil broken…

Many of you may have wintered through death, loss, or crushed dreams, but God has a new plan and purpose for your life this spring. So step out into the quilt garden of your soul and feel the color that brings new life! 

 

Kelly Long is a CBA, CBD, and ECPA bestselling author of Amish fiction. Her next book The Amish Bride of Ice Mountain from Kensington Publishers is due out Oct. 30th, 2014. You can connect with Kelly on FB at Fans of Kelly Long or Twitter at Kellylongamish





2 comments:

  1. Participating in a Quilt Garden tour is one of my Quilt Bucket items. Many quilters, both past and present enjoy using nature as the backdrop for their quilts. That can be in a floral block, a tulip, rose, or other flower, floral fabric for other designs, or just a hint of flowers like the many basket blocks available. Quilting an gardening are a perfect pair.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you, Kelly, for those beautiful images and inspiring words.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for commenting, please check back for our replies!